Disable the Empty Trash Warning in Mac OS X

Dec 2, 2011 - 2 Comments

Empty Trash warning in Mac OS X

Tired of having to approve the Trash being emptied in Mac OS X? You can either hold down the Option key when emptying the trashcan, or you can turn off the Trash warning dialog window completely in Finder preferences:

  • From the desktop, click on the “Finder” menu and choose “Preferences”
  • Click on the “Advanced” tab
  • Uncheck the box next to “Show warning before emptying the Trash”

From here on out you won’t get a dialog confirmation when emptying the Trash.

Disable the Empty Trash Warning in Mac OS X

While you’re in the Advanced Finder preferences, you might want to enable the always “Empty Trash securely” feature as well, just be aware that it makes the recovery of any data deleted practically impossible.

Enjoy this tip? Subscribe to the OSXDaily newsletter to get more of our great Apple tips, tricks, and important news delivered to your inbox! Enter your email address below:

Related articles:

Posted by: Paul Horowitz in Mac OS X, Tips & Tricks

2 Comments

» Comments RSS Feed

  1. Shane says:

    You could also use Alfred app. Trigger Alfred, start to type ‘empty trash’ and hit enter and it will empty without the warning.

  2. qka says:

    I knew I could turn it off.

    I leave it on ass one last sanity check before deleting the Trash.

    Has saved my bacon on a few occasions.

Leave a Reply

 

Shop for Apple & Mac Deals on Amazon.com

Subscribe to OSXDaily

Subscribe to RSS Subscribe to Twitter Feed Follow on Facebook Subscribe to eMail Updates