How to Delete a VPN from iPhone or iPad

Dec 14, 2019 - 5 Comments

VPN on iPhone or iPad

If you’re using a VPN with iPhone or iPad you may wish to eventually delete that VPN from your device, perhaps because you are no longer using the VPN service, or if the VPN is no longer needed. For example, maybe you used a VPN while traveling and are back home and no longer find it necessary, or perhaps you changed jobs and a work-specific VPN is no longer needed.

This article will show you how to delete a VPN from iPad or iPhone.

How to Remove VPN from iPhone or iPad

  1. Open the Settings app
  2. Toggle the “VPN” switch to OFF if the VPN you want to delete is not already disabled
  3. Go to “General” and then tap on “VPN”
  4. How to delete a VPN on iPhone or iPad

  5. Locate the VPN profile you want to remove and tap the (i) button
  6. How to delete a VPN on iPhone or iPad

  7. Tap “Delete VPN”
  8. How to delete a VPN on iPhone or iPad

  9. Confirm that you want to delete the VPN to remove it from the iPhone or iPad
  10. How to delete a VPN profile from iPhone or iPad

With the VPN deleted, it will no longer be available for use on the iPad or iPhone. If you wanted to use the VPN again, you’d either need to re-add the VPN Profile or reconfigure the VPN manually.

Many VPN services install a VPN profile that make the setup of their service particularly easy, and by deleting the VPN this way you are effectively removing that profile. This also works the same to delete and remove a manually configured VPN on iPhone or iPad too.

Nearly every third party VPN service (that you’d actually want to use anyway, though Opera web browser has a free VPN as do some other services) is a paid service, and they can be very helpful for international travelers and for the privacy conscious or security minded since a VPN will route all internet traffic on a device through the VPN as long as it’s active. Additionally, many businesses and organizations have a VPN that is required to access internal networks and other organization specific data. Whichever the case, once you no longer need the VPN or are no longer paying for the service, you’ll probably want to remove the VPN profile from your iPhone or iPad.

The screenshots here demonstrate removing a VPN from an iPad but deleting a VPN from iPhone is exactly the same, as it is with iPod touch.

Enjoy this tip? Subscribe to the OSXDaily newsletter to get more of our great Apple tips, tricks, and important news delivered to your inbox! Enter your email address below:

Related articles:

Posted by: Paul Horowitz in iPad, iPhone, Tips & Tricks

5 Comments

» Comments RSS Feed

  1. Bob says:

    When I go from step 4 (clicking on VPN’s info icon) I don’t get to your step 5. I get the VPN’s type, server and account but not the Connect on Demand or Delete VPN options. So there is no where for me to go. I’m using an ipad mini-4 running ios version 13.3. Suggestions?

  2. George Ilickovic says:

    Australian Mobaile’s. sistem no Support
    VPN Configurations

  3. Figaro says:

    Why remove the VPN? Why not simply disconnect until
    you wish to use it again?

    • TR says:

      You’d disconnect from the VPN if you no longer need it at that moment.

      Many reasons to delete the VPN profile though; If you change jobs, cancel the VPN service, use a different one, no longer need it, etc

  4. D says:

    I would love to use Opera but the VPN has never worked for me. :(

Leave a Reply

 

Shop on Amazon.com and help support OSXDaily!

Subscribe to OSXDaily

Subscribe to RSS Subscribe to Twitter Feed Follow on Facebook Subscribe to eMail Updates

Tips & Tricks

News

iPhone / iPad

Mac

Troubleshooting

Shop on Amazon to help support this site