How to Delete All Facebook Posts

May 16, 2021 - 3 Comments

How to Delete All Facebook Posts

Want to clear your Facebook account of all your old posts? Until recently, if you wanted to delete any of your Facebook posts, you had to scroll through your profile and do it one by one. Thankfully, Facebook launched a feature called Manage Activity to make this process a whole lot easier, allowing you to remove all old posts.

Most of us have used Facebook for years now and we might have some embarrassing old posts or photos that are visible to the friends who visit our profile. It’s hard to keep scrolling down and find these specific posts that you want to delete. However, you can now select all of these posts and delete them in bulk. You can do this on both the Facebook app for mobile devices and the desktop site.

Keen on removing those old posts before one of your sneaky friends take a screenshot? Let’s check out the steps to get this done.

By the way, you might want to save all your photos from Facebook before deleting your posts, but that’s a matter of personal preference of course.

How to Delete All Facebook Posts From Your Facebook Account

Thanks to the Manage Activity feature, deleting your old Facebook posts, regardless of whether they’re status updates or photo uploads, is a pretty simple and straightforward procedure. Just follow the steps below to get started.

  1. Launch the Facebook app on your device.

    Facebook
  2. Head over to the Facebook menu by tapping on the triple-line icon at the bottom-right corner of your screen. Scroll down and expand “Settings & Privacy”. Now, choose “Privacy Shortcuts”.

    How to Delete All Facebook Posts
  3. Here, scroll down and tap on “See your Activity Log” located under “Your Facebook Information”.

    How to Delete All Facebook Posts
  4. Next, tap on “Manage Activity” located right at the top.

    How to Delete All Facebook Posts
  5. Choose “Your Posts” which includes your photos, videos, status updates, and more.

    How to Delete All Facebook Posts
  6. Now, you should able to view all your Facebook posts neatly sorted by their respective dates. Keep scrolling down until you’re able to see all of your old posts. Now, check the box at the top of this menu and tap on “Trash” as shown below.

    How to Delete All Facebook Posts
  7. Now, you’ll be informed that the selected posts will be moved to the trash and permanently removed after 30 days. Tap on “Move to Trash” to confirm.

    How to Delete All Facebook Posts

There you go, you’ve successfully managed to delete all of your old Facebook posts in bulk.

As per Facebook, the new Manage Activity feature is meant to make it easy for users to curate their presence on the social network to more accurately reflect who they are today. For example, you can use this feature to remove some of your old embarrassing posts from a prior life, previous careers, school, or the college days.

Instead of deleting these posts, you also have the option to archive them, which means they are no longer public but still can be viewed privately, if needed.

This is obviously covering this procedure from the mobile apps for iPhone and iPad (it should be the same on Android too), but if you’re using the desktop site on a Mac or PC, you can do the same by heading over to your profile and clicking on “Manage Posts” located right below the status update box.

Are you trying to move on from Facebook entirely? If so, you might be interested in learning how you can permanently delete your Facebook account. It’ll take a few weeks for Facebook to completely delete the account.

We hope you were able to remove all those old embarrassing posts from your Facebook profile. What are your overall thoughts on this capability? And while you’re on Facebook, don’t forget you can follow OSXDaily there too.

Enjoy this tip? Subscribe to the OSXDaily newsletter to get more of our great Apple tips, tricks, and important news delivered to your inbox! Enter your email address below:

Related articles:

Posted by: Hamlin Rozario in Tips & Tricks

3 Comments

» Comments RSS Feed

  1. Gump says:

    Prior to this, there are/were some browser extensions that would go through your activity log and delete posts and content based on specified criteria. In response to this, Facebook broke this by (again) re-designing the UI/UX. This tool is dubious, and people need to understand that once you post something on a platform like Facebook, regardless of their claims here, that content will be preserved and used/analyzed forever. That includes certain three-letter US agencies, who have unfettered access to content and analytics.

    Caveat emptor.

    • DontDoIt says:

      Agreed completely. This is only deleting the public facing data, everything else behind the scenes is almost certainly permanent – using social networks are free because YOU, your data, photos, sentiment, etc are their product.

      Personally I would not recommend anyone use Facebook.

  2. Glenn Lego says:

    After what Facebook and Twitter have done to Trump and conservatives in general, why would anyone want either outlet?

Leave a Reply

 

Shop on Amazon.com and help support OSXDaily!

Subscribe to OSXDaily

Subscribe to RSS Subscribe to Twitter Feed Follow on Facebook Subscribe to eMail Updates

Tips & Tricks

News

iPhone / iPad

Mac

Troubleshooting

Shop on Amazon to help support this site