Clear Versions History & Auto-Save Cache Data in Mac OS X

Feb 20, 2012 - 3 Comments

OS X Versions Cache and Auto-Save

Mac OS X 10.7 and later include the Versions feature and Auto-Save ability, this lets users restore back to previous editions of a file by creating a constant sequence of saved file states while they are being worked on. All around, Versions and auto-save are useful, but they can also leave traces of sensitive documents and files you may not wish to keep around. Other than the privacy implications, this same technique can resolve some erroneous behavior with Versions as well. The simplest solution to these issues is to manually delete the Versions saved states cache directory.

The Versions cache directory is stored within the root of a Mac OS X installation here:

/.DocumentRevisions-V100/

The safest way to remove this folder will be multiple steps, so launch the Terminal (/Applications/Utilities/) and type the following:

cd /

To be certain you’re about to remove the proper directory, verify the directory name:

ls -l .DocumentRevisions-V100

Delete the directory and its contents with rm:

sudo rm -rf .DocumentRevisions-V100

Doing this one-time will not disable the feature, it will just remove all existing history of files that have been managed by Versions.

After a file has been processed automatically by Versions again, the directory will be rebuilt. Because this is involves editing system files and using the potentially catastrophic ‘rm -rf’ command, you shouldn’t use this tip unless you know what you’re doing and why you’re doing it.

Also, be aware that deleting the directory can cause some temporary issues with existing files that are locked or have saved states, even if file locking is turned off. Typically this will be in the form of an error message when using the file the first time, but it shouldn’t cause any serious issues.

Enjoy this tip? Subscribe to the OSXDaily newsletter to get more of our great Apple tips, tricks, and important news delivered to your inbox! Enter your email address below:

Related articles:

Posted by: William Pearson in Mac OS X, Tips & Tricks

3 Comments

» Comments RSS Feed

  1. guest says:

    you shouldn’t assume you know exactly what apple’s using that area of the system for and how it’s used. this is a stupid hint that’s just going to cause someone unforseen problems.

  2. CS says:

    Without documentation to describe how Apple is handling the Versions feature in Lion, this is a foolish hint. Guessing what a part of the System does based on a directory name is playing with a loaded gun. With the OS getting more locked down because security is a top priority, there won’t be any obvious areas to exploit

Leave a Reply

 

Shop for Apple & Mac Deals on Amazon.com

Subscribe to OSXDaily

Subscribe to RSS Subscribe to Twitter Feed Follow on Facebook Subscribe to eMail Updates