How to Highlight Changes in Shared Notes on iPhone & iPad

Dec 8, 2020 - Leave a Comment

How to Highlight Changes in Shared Notes on iPhone & iPad

Do you use the built-in Notes app to quickly write down important information, scan documents, plan things, or make lists on your iPhone and iPad? If so, you’ll be pleased to know that you can not only collaborate with others on a shared note, but you can also highlight all the changes in these shared notes.

Similar to the collaboration feature that’s available on Google Docs, iCloud Pages, etc. Notes app lets you invite a friend or colleague to work together on a note. Although the people you add to a shared note can view and make changes to the note in a collaborative fashion, the ability to highlight all these changes makes it easier to quickly identify all the edits that were made by others.

Notes app does not highlight all changes by default, however. It needs to be enabled first.

How to Highlight Changes in Shared Notes on iPhone & iPad

Be sure your iPhone or iPad is running a modern version of system software, since you won’t be able to use the highlight feature on older versions of iOS and iPadOS. Also, it’s worth keeping in mind that you can only invite people to notes with iCloud notes.

  1. Open the stock “Notes” app on your iPhone and iPad.

    Notes icon in iOS

  2. Open the iCloud note that you want to share. Tap on the “add people” option located right next to the share icon, as shown below.

    How to Highlight Changes in Shared Notes on iPhone & iPad
  3. Now, you’ll be able to invite them via any of the social networking platforms you use.

    How to Highlight Changes in Shared Notes on iPhone & iPad
  4. Once you’ve invited them, tap on the same icon again. You’ll notice a check-mark indicating that invites have been sent for collaboration.

    How to Highlight Changes in Shared Notes on iPhone & iPad
  5. Now, use the toggle to enable “Highlight All Changes”.

    How to Highlight Changes in Shared Notes on iPhone & iPad

There you go, now that you know how to highlight all changes in shared notes on iPhone and iPad, you can quickly see what has been updated by whomever is sharing the note.

How to Highlight Changes in Shared Notes on iPhone & iPad

You can access this feature even before the other person accepts your invite for collaboration. It’s a great way to keep track of all the edits in a particular note that you’re working on together.

In the same menu where you enable/disable highlights, you can also choose to stop sharing the note at any time, or remove access for just a specific user if you have multiple people on the same shared note.

When you stop sharing a note with someone, it automatically gets removed from their device. Deleting the note removes it from the devices of the people you’ve shared it with too. However, the note will be moved to the Recently Deleted folder on your device.

Now that you know you can quickly spot out all the changes with the highlight feature that Notes has to offer, will you be using it? Do you use shared Notes for collaborative note taking? Share any tips, thoughts, advice, or experiences in the comments section down below.

Enjoy this tip? Subscribe to the OSXDaily newsletter to get more of our great Apple tips, tricks, and important news delivered to your inbox! Enter your email address below:

Related articles:

Posted by: Hamlin Rozario in iPad, iPhone, Tips & Tricks

Leave a Reply

 

Shop on Amazon.com and help support OSXDaily!

Subscribe to OSXDaily

Subscribe to RSS Subscribe to Twitter Feed Follow on Facebook Subscribe to eMail Updates

Tips & Tricks

News

iPhone / iPad

Mac

Troubleshooting

Shop on Amazon to help support this site